Sonntag, 20. November 2005

The big sand dune

Now it's already over – my trip to one of Australia's most stunning places: Fraser Island, the world's biggest sand island. Most people go to Fraser on a 3-day selfguided camping safari. It's the cheapest way to do it. I was really scared that my group (they stick 11 people in one little jeep!) could be full of stupid people who would not do anything else than drinking. All the time. I had heared so many bad things about other people's trips that I was really concerned about that.

barge
Taking the car on the barge to the island.

But I ended up very lucky. The day before the trip I had already found six nice other people and we decided to go together. They had to fill the group up with four more people – but they were also very lovely. And – the fact I wonder most about – we were quite an „old“ group. Only one of the guys was just 20 years young, everyone else over 25. Good! And – another wonder – I was not the oldest this time. ;-) It was an international group, too – four Germans, two Italians, two Brazilians, two irish and one swiss guy. The Germans, as ususal, had the majority.

shipwreck
The „Maheno Shipwreck“ at full moon.

sunsetbeach
View from our second camp to the beach.

ellicreek
Elli Creek – Sarah and Patrick in freezing cold water.

indianhead
Indian Head – looking for turtles, but none seen.

dingo
Dingo – lots of them live on Fraser.

wine
Winetime – Lord, I was drunk that night!

I did not drink THAT much (no, really!!!) but the heat obviously did the rest for me then. The next morning I wondered why everyone asked me „How are you feeling today?“ I had NO hangover, I remember every detail and I went to bed all by myself with no help! I was not THAT drunk. Just to make that clear! ;-)

After two and a half days we returned to Rainbow Beach. The car was still unbroken, which is, of course, because only women drove it – me, Anna and Meike. ;-) Dirty with sand all over (it gets everywhere!), a few of us a little sunburned but all very very happy. It was a fantastic time, a wonderful group and a great trip.

Trackback URL:
https://shue.twoday.net/stories/1171232/modTrackback

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Suche

 

Archiv

November 2005
Mo
Di
Mi
Do
Fr
Sa
So
 
 1 
 2 
 3 
 5 
 6 
 7 
 9 
10
11
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
21
22
23
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
 
 
 
 

Aktuelle Beiträge

Back to ...
Ein froehliches Hallo an good old Germany aus dem verregneten...
shue - 18. Mai, 05:22
Goodbye Australia!
I can't really believe it yet, but my time in Australia...
shue - 16. Jan, 02:41
Cycling on "Rotto"
About 15 kilometers from Fremantle (which is a 20 minute...
shue - 6. Jan, 09:01
Änd a häääppiiiii Nu...
A good night tonight an a happy start into the New...
shue - 31. Dez, 09:18
Merry X-Mas!
I don't have Christmas this year but I whish all of...
shue - 24. Dez, 02:33

Status

Online seit 7149 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 18. Mai, 05:22

Credits


00) Dies und Das
01) Vorbereitung
02) Routenplanung
03) Dubai
04) Sydney
05) Blue Mountains
06) Tierwelt
07) Jobs
08) Neuseeland
09) Melbourne
10) On Tour
11) Western Australia
12) East Coast
13) Back to ...
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren